English    Deutsch

Sharing calendars with another person

If you would like to coordinate your events with another person, you can use Google Calendar's sharing function. This way it is possible to share some or all of your calendars with someone else:
Stacks Image 202
Please follow these instructions to share your calendar with someone else (and vice-versa) and see the other person's events in your calendar in another color:
Person 1

Step 1: Create a Google Calendar account.

Skip this step if you already have a Google Calendar account.

To get a Google Calendar account, please go to

http://calendar.google.com

and click "Sign up for a new Google Account". Then follow the instructions.

Stacks Image 774
Person 2

Step 1: Create a Google Calendar account.

Skip this step if you already have a Google Calendar account.

To get a Google Calendar account, please go to

http://calendar.google.com

and click "Sign up for a new Google Account". Then follow the instructions.

Stacks Image 929
Now both persons have a Google Calendar account. You can sign in to it on http://calendar.google.com from any Internet-connected computer.
Person 1

Optional Step 2: Add additional calendars

If you don't want to share all events or if you want to categorize your events into different categories with different colors, you can add additional calendars by clicking "Add" under "My calendars" on the left:

snewcalendar
You can read more about it under: Calendars

Step 3: Sharing your calendar(s)

You can now make some or all of your calendars visible for the other person:

ssharecalendar
Person 2

Optional Step 2: Add additional calendars

If you don't want to share all events or if you want to categorize your events into different categories with different colors, you can add additional calendars by clicking "Add" under "My calendars" on the left:

snewcalendar
You can read more about it under: Calendars

Step 3: Sharing your calendar(s)

You can now make some or all of your calendars visible for the other person:

ssharecalendar
Now you have to enter the name of the other person to share it with him/her and choose the permissions:


You can find additional information about sharing calendars in Google Help.

Finished

That's all. Afterward you should see the other's calendar and events in a different color in your own calendar in the "Other calendars" list (below "My calendars"). There you can also choose a color for this calendar by clicking the button with the triangle to the right of the calendar's name. So you don't have to use the same color that the other person uses for his/her calendar.

By clicking a calendar's name under "My calendars" or "Other calendars", you can toggle it between "visible" and "invisible" e.g. if you don't want to see the other's calendar all the time. This visibility setting is also used/downloaded by CalenGoo during the sync, please see Visibility/Download.

Using CalenGoo

When using CalenGoo, it will automatically detect and use all your personal and shared calendars (except Google Sports calendars). And it will use the colors you have configured in Google Calendar, so there is nothing special necessary to use these shared calendars with CalenGoo. Please see the Installation instructions.

Reminders in shared calendars

It isn't possible to share reminders in Google Calendar. When sharing a calendar with another person, the reminders are removed. So to have reminders while sharing a calendar you have these options:

Same account
Instead of using shared calendars, you could just sync all devices with the same Google Calendar account. Then they will certainly also use the same reminders.
Change notifications
You can configure Google Calendar to send you an email whenever something changes in one of your shared calendars. Please see Change notifications
Default reminders
You can configure default reminders in Google Calendar that are used for all events in that calendar. Please see default reminders.

And in CalenGoo you can use "Automatic reminders", which are also used for all events of a calendar. Please see "Automatic reminders" here: Reminders

Change sharing of an existing calendar

In the sharing settings in Google Calendar you can see who can access your calendars. You can invite persons, remove persons or change the permissions of a person. Just open the Google Calendar website ( http://calendar.google.com ) on your computer, sign in and click on the gear icon in the upper right corner. Then choose "Settings > Calendars". Click on "Shared: Edit settings" behind the calendar’s name.
Stacks Image 7149
There you can find a list of persons who are allowed to access your calendar and can edit it:
Stacks Image 7167

Sharing calendars with different permissions

When sharing a calendar as explained above you can choose under "Permission Settings" which permissions the receiver will have:

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 08.41.19

You can find further information about the permissions under "Control what others can see" here: https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/37082

Each event can be individually marked as "Default", "Public" or "Private" in CalenGoo and Google Calendar:

Simulator_Screen_Shot_10_12_2015_09_09_22

The sharing permissions also determine if the receiver can see the details of your events:
Default Public Private
Make changes Can see all details Can see all details Can see all details
See all event details Can see all details Can see all details Sees only free/busy
See only free/busy Sees only free/busy Can see all details Sees only free/busy
You can find further information under "I've only shared my calendar with specific people" here: https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/34580

Shared iCloud calendars

iCloud supports sharing calendars, too. It works similar to the sharing in Google Calendar as explained above. You can create new calendars on https://www.icloud.com and share these or other calendars with other persons:
Creating a new iCloud calendar:

Pasted_Image_21_11_15_10_22Pasted_Image_21_11_15_10_23
Sharing an iCloud calendar:

Screen_Shot_2015-11-21_at_10_18_30